Southeast Wisconsin Marriage Laws

January 6, 2014


  • Apply in County in which either is a resident. License may be used anywhere in the state.
  • Both must apply in person. Certified birth certificate is required.
  • Proof of residence is required. (drivers license, utility bill, etc.)
  • Apply no later than 8 working days (Milwaukee County), 6 working days (Ozaukee, Racine, Kenosha, Waukesha Counties) prior to wedding date — two weeks prior is recommended.
  • Non-residents (both out-of-state) must apply in the county they will be married. License will only be valid in that county.
  • Each party must provide the Clerk’s office with their social security card.
  • License is valid 30 days from date issued.
  • Legal age is 18. If younger, you must bring a certified consent form (available at the Office of the County Clerk) from both parents or legal guardian.
  • If divorced, copy of judgement of divorce, court annulment or death certificate.  6 month waiting period.
  • Most counties require name, address and phone number of the person performing the ceremony. Location and date may also be required.
  • Some counties require documents not in English be translated and notarized.

County Fees

(Cash Only, No Refunds)
Jefferson~Office of the Clerk`Courthouse`320 S. Main St., Rm 109`Jefferson, WI 53549~(920) 674-7140`$90
Kenosha~County Admin. Bldg.`1010 56th St.`Kenosha, WI 53140~(262) 653-2552`$80
Milwaukee~Courthouse`901 N. 9th St., Rm 105`Milwaukee, WI 53233~(414) 278-4070`$110
Ozaukee~Administration Bldg.`121 W. Main St., Rm 128`Port Washington, WI 53074~(262) 284-8110`$100
Racine~Racine Courthouse`730 Wisconsin Ave., 1st Fl.`Racine, WI 53403~(262) 636-3121`(800) 242-4202`Racine County~$100
Walworth~Office of the Clerk`Walworth Government Ctr.`100 W. Walworth St., Rm 101`Elkhorn, WI 53121~(262) 741-4241`$80
Washington~Office of the Clerk`432 E. Washington St., Rm 2027`West Bend, WI 53095~(262) 335-4301`(262) 335-4735`$100
Waukesha~1320 Pewaukee Rd., Rm 120`Administration Bldg.`Waukesha, WI 53188~(262) 548-7010`$105

Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. It is important that you verify all information before making any wedding or travel plans.

Categorized in: