Laws and Requirement to get your Wisconsin Marriage License.

Wisconsin Marriage License and Laws

June 17, 2024

All the Tips and Tricks for Getting Your Marriage License

Getting ready to tie the knot in South-East Wisconsin? Congratulations! Before you say “I do,” make sure you have all the necessary information about marriage licenses and laws in the Badger State.

Where to Get Marriage License

To start the journey towards marital bliss in Wisconsin, you’ll need to obtain a marriage license. This is done through the county clerk’s office in each county.

Before heading to the county clerk’s office, be sure to check their specific requirements and operating hours. It’s always a good idea to call ahead and confirm what documents you need to bring along with you. Remember that both parties will typically need to appear together when applying for the marriage license.

When it comes to officiants, anyone authorized by religious denominations and judges can perform a marriage ceremony in Wisconsin. Keep these regulations in mind when planning your big day!

Once all the paperwork is complete and your application is approved, you’ll be one step closer to saying “I do” in beautiful Wisconsin!

Helpful Hints When Applying

  • Most counties are by appointment only.
  • Apply in the county in which either is a resident. License may be used anywhere in the state.
  • Both must apply in person. Certified birth certificate is required.
  • Proof of residence is required. (Drivers license, utility bill, etc.)
  • Two weeks prior to wedding day is advised for when to apply.
  • Non-residents (both out-of-state) must apply in the county they will be married. License will only be valid in that county.
  • Each party must provide the Clerk’s office with their social security card.
  • License is valid 30 days from date of issue.
  • Legal age is 18. If younger, you must bring a certified consent form (available at the Office of County Clerk) from both parents or legal guardian.
  • If divorced, copy of judgement divorce, court annulment or death certificate is required, as well as a 6 month waiting period.
  • Most counties require name, address, and phone number of the person performing the ceremony. Location and date may also be required.
  • Some counties require documents not in English be translated and notarized.

County Fees and Information

County Address Phone Website Fee
Jefferson 311 S. Center Ave., Rm C-2050, Jefferson (920) 674-8630 $110
Kenosha 1010 56th St., Kenosha (262) 653-2552 $110
Milwaukee 901 N. 9th St., Rm 105, Milwaukee (414) 278-4067 $110
Ozaukee 121 W. Main St., Rm 128, Port Washington (262) 284-8110 $100
Racine 730 Wisconsin Ave., 1st Fl, Racine (262) 636-3121 $110
Walworth 100 W. Walworth St., Rm 101, Elkhorn (262) 741-4241 $100
Washington 432 E. Washington St., Rm 2027, West Bend (262) 335-4301 $110
Waukesha 5515 W. Moreland Blvd., Rm 120, Waukesha (262) 548-7010 $110

*Please note: State and county Wisconsin marriage license requirement often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. It is important that you verify all information before making any wedding or travel plans.